The Blessing of Unanswered Prayers

While stuyding in Germany, I had an idea of leaving my most favorite poems and quotes in the coffee stores, bookstores, libraries. One can say I was doing mess which can be one point of view. Another one is that I was sharing the pearls of wisdom with people I could never really approach and get to know. Up to you to decide which viewpoint you prefer .

This poem speaks about not receiving what one wants but what one needs. I like it very very much.

 

I asked for strength that I might achieve;

I was made weak that I might learn humbly to obey.

I asked for health that I might do greater things;

I was given infirmity that I might do better things.

I asked for riches that I might be happy;

I was given poverty that I might be wise.

I asked for power that I might have the praise of men;

I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God.

I asked for all things that I might enjoy life;

I was given life that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I had asked for,

but eveything that I had hoped for.

Almost despite myself my unspoken prayers were answered;

I am, among all men, most richly blessed.

Unknown Confederate soldier

Leave a comment